@RaginCajunsMBB Gant Repeats On NABC All-District Team

Senior forward led Sun Belt Conference in rebounds, blocked shots

By: Matt Sullivan, Associate Director of Athletics Communications

Story Links

KANSAS CITY, Mo. –Louisiana'sJaKeenan Gantpicked up more postseason honors on Thursday when he was a first-team selection as the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) announced its 2018-19 NABC Division I All-District teams.

Gant, named to the 10-member District 24 team for the second consecutive year, finished third in the Sun Belt Conference in scoring (20.5), led the league in both rebounds (8.7) and blocked shots (2.6), and finished second in the SBC in field goal percentage (.543).

The Springfield, Ga., native earned first-team All-Sun Belt Conference honors and was named the league's Defensive Player of the Year.

Gant grabbed 10 or more rebounds in a dozen games during the regular season, with a career-best 17 boards coming at Texas State.

In Sun Belt games, Gant averaged 23.1 points – third among all SBC players – while finishing second in field goal percentage (.562) and pacing the conference in both rebounds (9.2) and blocked shots (2.2).

Selected and voted on by member coaches of the NABC in NCAA Division I, these student-athletes represent the finest basketball players across America.

Follow the Ragin' Cajuns on Twitter (@RaginCajunsMBB), Facebook (RaginCajunsMBB) or Instagram (@RaginCajunsMBB) to stay up-to-date on all that is happening with Louisiana Men's Basketball.

NABC District 24 Team
First Team
JaKeenan Gant, Louisiana
Daishon Smith, Louisiana-Monroe
Tookie Brown, Georgia Southern
D'Marcus Simonds, Georgia State
Nijal Pearson, Texas State

Second Team
Ty Cockfield, Arkansas State
Zac Cuthbertson, Coastal Carolina
Rayjon Tucker, Little Rock
Jordan Varnado, Troy
Josh Ajayi, South Alabama